In 1561 Reval and the surrounding provinces had become a part of Sweden and later the areas to the south down to the river Düna (Dvina) were conquered. The towns of Reval and Riga had previously had the right to strike coins and this was renewed during the Swedish period of rule. The Swedish government also established a mint in Riga. Later on, the town of Narva also received the right to strike coins and it exercised the right in 1670-1672. Reval (starting during Sigismund) and Narva struck coins according to the Swedish accounting system and their coins from time to time played a significant role in the Swedish circulation of coins.

During the Thirty Years’ War coins were struck in central and southern Germany on behalf of Sweden in Augsburg, Erfurt, Fürth, Hildesheim, Mainz, Nürnberg, Osnabrück, Strassburg, and Würzburg. Coins can also have been struck at some other towns. In areas which later became Swedish possessions coins were also struck in connection with the war and later in Stade, Stettin, Wismar, and Wolgast. In some cases the towns had previously had the right to strike coins.

During the wars with Poland a few towns were occupied by Swedish forces and then coins were struck in Elbing during the reigns of Gustav II Adolf – Christina and Thorn during Karl X Gustav. In both cases it was done by the towns except in Elbing were the Swedish government also operated a mint.

On the island of St. Barthélemy in the West Indies there was no Swedish coinage while the island belonged to Sweden 1784-1876. However, foreign coins were from time to time countermarked with a crown.