The Sala silver mine and the Falu copper mine were decisive for the Swedish coinage during the 17th and 18th centuries. The copper coinage was usually located in Dalarna (from 1642 concentrated to Avesta), the province where the copper mine was located and water power for the minting was available. The silver coinage was usually located to the capital Stockholm or its surroundings, where it was easier to control it. Gold coinage was of less importance before 1873, when the accounting system of krona was introduced.

There were many mints especially during the 16th century, partly because of wars and non-royal coinages (towns and relatives of the king). From the 18th century onwards only plate money were struck at other places than Stockholm and Avesta.

The periods have been chosen based on the history of the coinage and border revisions.